It’s my other half’s birthday today and he had asked for Bangers and Mash for dinner. How low key is that!? It did mean I had more time to spend on the cake and I decided to surprise him with something he’s never had before: Guinness Cake!

I went all out and tried to fit as many of his favourite things in today so for breakfast in bed I did poached eggs and smashed avocado on a toasted muffin (his face when I came back into the bedroom with the tray was pretty much worth getting up at 5.35 for… still way too early).

For dinner we had sausages and mash, as requested, and I had gone to the butchers and got some really nice black pepper sausages – they were so much better than the normal ones we get from Sainsbury’s I’m not sure I’ll be able to go back to them… I served them with his favourite mash (skin on, mustard mash – quick and tasty!), gravy and broccoli. It didn’t disappoint!

Years and years ago when I was volunteering in a cafe at university I made this Guinness cake all the time, like really, I made at least 4 a week. It was really popular and a fun thing to have on the menu. I then completely forgot about it! I was probably traumatised from baking it so much.. And then the other week an old “memory” popped up on Facebook and it was after I first got the recipe for this cake and it all came back to me! It’s a very rich chocolate cake with a taste you can’t really put your finger on until you’re told it’s guinness and then you taste it straight away (the name is kinda a give away though) and the idea is that once the frosting is on a slice will look like a pint of guinness!

It’s a recipe from Nigella Lawson and can be found here: https://www.nigella.com/recipes/chocolate-guinness-cake

It went down a treat and I was so thankful for facebook for taking me down that particular memory lane.

