My sister sent me this recipe and said it was the best vegetarian burgers she’s ever tried. I must admit, I was a bit unsure as I’m not the biggest fan of halloumi (it’s too squeaky!) but they really are delicious, easy and quick to make and they can become as fancy as you’d like depending on what you serve them with. The recipe recommends a quinoa salad with humus but I’ve made them with sweet potato fries and tzatziki and it’s very, very nice!

For 8 burgers:

Grate 3 medium carrots (250g) and 1 halloumi cheese (200g) and mix in a bowl with 75ml bread crumbs, 2 eggs (sometimes I use 3 if I find it difficult to shape the burgers), 1 tsp chili flakes and season with black pepper and salt.

Place some baking paper on a baking tray and brush with oil, rub your hands in some oil and shape the mix to 8 burgers and place them carefully on the tray. Brush the top side with some oil and bake for 15-20 in 220 degrees.

Tzatziki:

I don’t think tzatziki is as popular in the UK as it is in Sweden, in my family we had tzatziki pretty much all summer with everything we cooked on the BBQ. It’s a Greek yoghurt sauce, really easy to make and goes with pretty much everything. Grate some cucumber and sprinkle some salt on top, place in a sieve and let the moisture drip in to the sink or bowl. The longer you leave it dripping the better. When you’ve squeezed the last liquid out mix it with garlic, salt and pepper and greek yoghurt. It’s all down to how much garlic you like or how runny you’d like the sauce to be. I tend to add a little bit of lemon juice as well.

