Now I wasn’t sure how this would turn out at all as I didn’t have the right ingredients nor the right size tin, but apart from the very flat appearance it tastes lovely! Very pleased for my first attempt at a lemon drizzle

I’ve been meaning to make one for a while 1) because it’s an English classic and 2) it’s my partners favourite. And today I just thought “ok, I have a lemon, what else do I need?”. After realising I sort of had the right ingredients but not the right tin I decided to go ahead anyway and used one of Merry Berry’s (GBBO in my heart) recipes.

90g flour (recipe says self raising, I had plain)
90g caster sugar
90g soft butter
1 1/2 eggs (mine were small so I used two)
3/4 tsp baking powder (I used a full)
zest from 1/2 lemon (definitely used more than that)
I also added a bit of vanilla extract into the mix.

whisk together and pour in a small tin (definitely not use as big a tin as I did). I had it in the oven for 20 min on 180 degrees but it would’ve needed longer had it been thicker. I then mixed the juice from 1 lemon (recipe said 1/2) with a bit of icing sugar (recipe said 50g of granulated sugar) and vanilla sugar (not in the recipe. No soggy bottoms and a nice zesty cake!

