If you’re looking for something very Swedish you need to look no further cause this is it! Strawberry Cake. I’m slightly biased (being Swedish and the sponge recipe being my grandma’s) but this is heaven on a plate. 

I made this cake yesterday to bring in to work for my boss’ birthday today. First of all, the stress of carrying a cake whilst traveling through London rush hour is unbelievable. I was sweating, my arms shaking and my hands aching from balancing this precious cake I spent all evening making as I was fighting for my spot on the train, it’s not the most enjoyable start to the day, I tell you. But I, and the cake, made it all the way to work without melting and it was worth it when the whole team were munching away.

The layers are sponge, mushy banana, raspberry jam, custard, sponge, custard, raspberry jam and sponge. And then covered in whipped cream and topped with strawberries. I do enjoy piping work, even though I’m not overly creative, but I must confess I struggle with the British cream. That is one of very few things that is so very different from back home, I find that British cream melts very easily and is therefor quite difficult to pipe with. I now only whip a small amount at the time, it takes longer but I find it easier. I’ve yet to find the best combination for whipping cream (I’ve tried mixing whipping and double cream, I’ve tried just double cream, I’ve tried mixing double cream with single cream but I just can’t get it right!).

Now I went all in on this cake and made everything from scratch, but the quick and easy option is obviously to buy everything ready made and just put it together. But where’s the fun in that?

Grandma Disa’s sponge cake:

Whisk 6 eggs fluffy with 300ml sugar. In a separate bowl mix 150ml plain flour, 150ml potato flour (again, never seen this in the UK but can be found on http://www.totallyswedish.com) and 3tsp baking powder before mixing it into the egg mix. Bake for 30-40min in 175 degrees.

My mum’s custard:

Mix 150ml sugar, 3tbsp corn flour and 5 egg yolks in a bowl. Bring 500ml semi skimmed milk to the boil with 1 vanilla pod. Sieve the milk over the egg mix and whisk well. Pour back into the pan and let it simmer (while constantly whisking to avoid making scrambled eggs) until thick. Leave it to cool. Now, in Sweden we have our custard slightly different compared to the UK- for the British custard leave it as it is (I also find this best for cakes) and for Swedish custard mix with 200ml of whipped cream. Either way is very yummy!

