We had our old landlord over for dinner tonight so I just had to make something Swedish. Tadah- kladdkaka is the answer to all of your problems my friend! 

It’s so easy to make which makes it perfect for school night dinner parties when you’re short on time. This truly is a Swedish modern classic and you’ll see it in pretty much all cafes back home. The word would translate as “messy cake” or “gooey cake” meaning it doesn’t really set in the middle. Now a days people spice it up with polka sweets, marshmallows, salted caramel- you name it. But I prefer the traditional way, either on its own or with ice cream. I’ve been making them since I was allowed to use the oven on my own and I think I’ve known the recipe by heart since I was 12!

Kladdkaka

  • 100g melted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 300ml sugar
  • 4 tbsp cacao powder
  • 150ml plain flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • Bit of vanilla sugar or extract

175 degrees for 25-30 min. Bish bash bosh! It’s a winner every time.

(PS. I made the salmon tart from last week but added feta cheese to it – YUM!)

